quality control and the encouragement of industrial development; promotion of the greatest utilization of fishery products and a proper public understanding of the resource and the industry. The Department administers the Fishermen's Indemnity Plan to assist fishermen in the event of loss or serious damage to their fishing vessels or lobster traps.

Agencies connected with the Department are the Fisheries Prices Support Board and the Fisheries Research Board of Canada. The Department is represented on the following international commissions: Pacific Salmon Fisheries, Pacific Halibut, the Northwest Atlantic Fisheries, North Pacific Fisheries, Whaling, Great Lakes Fishery, and North Pacific Fur Seal.

Fisheries Research Board.—The Fisheries Research Board operates under the Fisheries Research Board Act of 1937 (amended in 1947 and 1952-53). It has been active as a fisheries research body since 1898, first as the Board of Management of the Canadian Marine Biological Station and later (1912) as the Biological Board of Canada.

The Board operates under the Minister of Fisheries and membership consists of a full-time chairman and not more than 18 other members. The majority of Board members are scientists, and other members are representative of the fishing industry and the Department of Fisheries.

The Board operates four biological stations and an Arctic Unit across Canada, also three technological stations with two technological application units and two oceanographic groups. It serves as the scientific arm of the Department of Fisheries and its principal objective is to increase the scope and value of Canadian fisheries through scientific research.

Department of Forestry.—The Department of Forestry was established in October 1960. It brings together the former Forestry Branch of the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources and the Forest Biology Division of the Research Branch of the Department of Agriculture. The Department conducts comprehensive programs of research relating to forestry and the utilization of forest products, and carries out economic studies relating to forest resources and the forest industries. It provides information regarding forestry and the forest industries and promotes public interest in the proper management, protection and use of the forest resources. Financial assistance is offered to the provinces under agreements authorized by the Governor in Council in order to expedite progress in specific forestry programs. It carries out forest surveys and provides technical advice and assistance to other agencies of the Federal Government which are responsible for the administration of forest lands. The Department co-operates with international organizations concerned with forestry and in which Canada maintains membership, and the Minister of Forestry reports to Parliament for the Eastern Rockies Forest Conservation Board.

Department of Insurance.—The Minister of Finance is responsible for the Department of Insurance which originated in 1875 as a branch of the Department of Finance but was constituted a separate Department in 1910. It is authorized and governed by the Department of Insurance Act (RSC 1952, c. 70). Under the Superintendent of Insurance, the Department administers the statutes of Canada applicable to: insurance, trust and loan companies incorporated by the Parliament of Canada; provincially incorporated insurance companies registered with the Department; British and foreign insurance companies operating in Canada; small loans companies and money-lenders; co-operative credit societies registered under the Co-operative Credit Associations Act; and Civil Service insurance.

Under the relevant provincial statutes the Department examines provincial trust companies in the Provinces of Manitoba and New Brunswick and loan and trust companies in the Province of Nova Scotia.

International Joint Commission.—This Commission was established under a Great Britain-United States treaty, Jan. 11, 1909, ratified by Canada in 1911. The Commission, composed of six members (three appointed by the President of the United States and three by the Government of Canada) is governed by five specific Articles of the Boundary Waters Treaty of 1909. The Commission's approval is required for any use, obstruction or diversion of boundary waters affecting the natural level or flow of boundary waters in the other country; and for any works in waters flowing from boundary waters or below the boundary in rivers flowing across the boundary which raise the natural level of waters on the other side of the boundary.

Problems arising along the common frontier are also referred to the Commission by either country for examination and report, such report to contain appropriate conclusions and recommendations. In addition, questions or matters of difference between the two countries may be referred to the Commission for decision, provided both countries consent.

The Commission reports to the Secretary of State for External Affairs of Canada and to the Secretary of State of the United States.

Department of Justice.—This Department, established by SC 1868, c. 39, now operates under authority of the Department of Justice Act (RSC 1952, c. 71). It provides legal services to the Government and various government departments including preparing and settling government legislation, settling instruments issued under the Great Seal of Canada, regulating and conducting litigation for or against the Crown, superintending the acquisition of property and prosecutions under federal legislation other than the Criminal Code, administers federal statutes